In France, what are the regions still used for?

Spread the love

Be careful, one French region can hide another: while since January 1, 2015, the Hexagon is divided into thirteen regions and ten metropolitan communities, the two departments of Haut and Bas-Rhin began, a few weeks ago, to modify gives it. During the redistribution of six years ago, the voters and elected officials of Alsace did not hide their annoyance, even their anger, at the creation of the Grand Est region bringing together Alsace, Lorraine and Champagne-Ardennes. Result? A discreet, but firm rebellion, in the name of their scorned identity. And a tangible result: the creation, on January 1, 2021, of the new “European community of Alsace” endowed with specific competences, more extensive than those of a department. What to give appetite to other communities anxious to twist the contours of their new borders …

Read also: Parisian haro in Marseille, capital of French anger