news oceon

Eight of the twelve host cities of the Euro are committed to welcoming the public

Spread the love

Eight host cities of Euro football (11 June-11 July) have already committed to welcoming spectators, which leaves the fate of Munich, Rome, Bilbao and Dublin in suspense, announced Friday the ‘UEFA.

Read also: More than 23 players per selection? UEFA considering authorization for Euro

The four remaining cities “have until April 19 to provide additional information on their plans, and a final decision will be taken on that date” concerning the possible relocation of the meetings which were planned there, explains the authority.

Clearly, Germany, Italy, Spain and Ireland risk losing their status as host countries, with UEFA demanding since mid-March that each meeting of its pan-European tournament be open to the public.

Budapest, very advanced in its vaccination campaign, is targeting crowded stands, “as long as the spectators meet the strict conditions for entering the stadium,” said UEFA.

On Friday, Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban promised that all citizens who request it would have been vaccinated by the start of the tournament “and could participate in the event with their vaccination card”.

Saint Petersburg and Baku have for their part promised a 50% gauge, while Amsterdam, Bucharest, Copenhagen and Glasgow have committed to 25-33% of spectators and London to “at least 25%” for the three matches of pool, hoping for a “higher capacity” for the semi-finals and the final “.

UEFA has given fans until April 22 to be reimbursed for their tickets, promising “special arrangements” in the event of a relocation or a meeting finally scheduled behind closed doors.

Even more News