British twilight over the Commonwealth

Spread the love

Far from the headlines of the newspapers, the gossip around Meghan and Harry and the death of Prince Philip, the British monarchy took a real blow in September 2020. Barbados announced that it would become a republic, abandoning the Queen as head of state from November 2021. Elisabeth II will then only be at the head of fifteen countries, including Australia, New Zealand, Canada and many small islands (Tuvalu, Saint Lucia, Solomon)… From now on, within the Commonwealth, a clear majority – thirty-eight countries out of fifty-four – do not have it any more as head of state. Jamaica could be next on the list, with Jamaican opposition MPs pushing to remove their country from the Crown. Gradually, the influence of His Majesty on this former empire where the sun never set is diminishing.

Read also: Death of Philip, husband of Elizabeth II: a life of prince consort in spite of himself